Very slow start up

Do you have IT problems? Unsure what software to use for virus checking, or maybe just a general IT question, post your request here and perhaps one of our IT talented members could solve your problem.

Very slow start up

Postby julygirl3210 » Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:50 pm

My computer takes for ever to boot up.

When I look at Task Manager, I have 50 processes on the go. I am sure that this is the reason why. How do I know which ones to delete from Task Manager, and which ones are vital for the running of my computer?

All of the processes look important to me. I could do a screen dump for you if you want, if it would help.

many thanks.
"Out damned spot ................" - Macbeth
julygirl3210
On Parole

Postby harrykeys » Wed Dec 26, 2007 3:22 pm

Hi there Sugargirl,

first of all let me say that I am Not a computer techie. My experience for what its worth is by learning from my mistakes on this my windows xp and previously windows ME............Sorry dont have and never will have vista, so cant help if you are using that. What system are you using. ? Certainly you shouldnt have 50 programmes running on boot up. So when you get a spare minute from doing what you do off line, please let us know what task manager showing is running on start up ? Also what protection programmes you are running with ?

theres 3 questions to start you off. My windows Xp takes about say 2 mins or a bit less to boot up

harry

ps sorry for not replying sooner, but its my first time in this part of the menu............usuall its the wee maddy
harrykeys
New In Town

Postby scylla » Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:34 pm

You can always Google the names of the applications running to find info on them; that way you'll know which should be running at start-up and which shouldn't.